Intallation Views









Publisher: Art and Theory
Graphic design: Stefania Malmsten
Editor: Estelle af Malmborg
Writers: Irene Berggren, Charlotte Cotton, Bo Madestrand,
Estelle af Malmborg, Anders Olofsson, Niclas Östlind

197 pp.
75 color, 45 b/w ills.
ISBN 978-91-979985-7-4

Contemporary Swedish Photography is an outstanding and much anticipated book. Generous in format and richly illustrated, it provides an overview of Swedens photography scene, from the legendary Christer Strömholm to todays wide range of eminent photographers. The book covers the work of over 50 photographers in alphabetical order, each presented with an introductory text and sumptuous images highlighting their most important characteristics. An insightful opening essay sheds light on the local historical context and outlines the technological and conceptual development of the medium, while American critic and curator Charlotte Cotton adds an international perspective. The focus of the book is art photography but cross-disciplinary photographers working in fields such as documentary photography, advertising, and fashion are also included, making this an essential reference book and a rich well of information for all who are interested in contemporary Swedish photography.

Photographers featured in the book: Andreas Ackerup, Lotta Antonsson, Bisse Bengtsson, Erik Berglin, Miriam Bäckström, Aida Chehrehgosha, Dawid, Cecilia Edefalk, Anders Edström, JH Engström, Johan Fowelin, Maria Friberg, Hans Gedda, Carl Johan De Geer, Peter Gehrke, Catharina Gotby, Denise Grünstein, Paul Hansen, Annika von Hausswolff, Maria Hedlund, Jean Hermanson, Julia Hetta, Walter Hirsch, Linda Hofvander, Martina Hoogland Ivanow, Pieter ten Hoopen, Mikael Jansson, Jens S Jensen, Gerry Johansson, Annica Karlsson Rixon, Eva Klasson, Clay Ketter, Hyun-Jin Kwak, Jenny Källman, Åke E:son Lindman, Fredrik Lieberath, Tuija Lindström, Maria Miesenberger, Tova Mozard, Robert Nettarp, Anneè Olofsson, Mikael Olsson, Petrus Olsson, Julia Peirone, Anders Petersen, Ann-Sofi Sidén, Gunnar Smoliansky, Karl-Johan Stigmark, Christer Strömholm, Lars Tunbjörk, Pernilla Zetterman, Camilla Åkrans